More Cheese Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

March 24, 2009 at 7:57 am 3 comments

Several weeks ago I was suppose to post some cheese alternatives.  But I did not because  life happened, and I just did not get around to it.   Well now I am back and I will give you what you all have been waiting for.  Drum roll please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best recipe for Nacho Cheese, the Ultimate Cheese Sauce.  Yes it is yummy, aim to please the most spectacle cheeseholic. I severed this at several of my catering events to a no vegan audience and no one new it was a vegan delicious dish.  Okay you saying give me the recipe already.  Okay okay! I hear you.

sauce-main_full13

INGREDIENTS
Makes 3 ¼ cups

3 c water
1 4oz jar pimentos
½ c cashews
1 T cornstarch
1 ½ T chopped onion
1 garlic clove
2 t maple syrup
¾ c yeast flakes
2 T tahini
1 ½ T lemon juice
¼ c canola oil
pinch of cumin
pinch of cayenne
2 ¼ t sea salt

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Cook at low heat until thick.

Another vegan alternative is  Teese http://www.teesecheese.com.

Entry filed under: vegan cheese. Tags: .

Cheese has lost its halo? Eat Your Greens!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food-cook  |  March 24, 2009 at 8:12 am

    thanks. im sure to try this.
    the pic looks great too!

    Reply
  • 2. Holly (WaterSkipper)  |  March 25, 2009 at 4:01 am

    oooh…that looks super delicious!

    Reply
  • 3. Cynthia  |  May 14, 2010 at 7:54 am

    I know that this is good because I’m Seventh-day Adventist too (I saw your video with Paul Nison) but I would seriously advise changing to another healthier oil than canola oil. “Canola oil comes from rapeseed, a completely unpalatable seed rich in erucic acid, which is bitter and rather toxic. Canola oil is rapeseed oil stripped of erucic acid, as I detailed in this previous post. It gets a lot of attention from doctors as a “heart healthy” oil (one of the “good” fats) rich in omega-3s, but the fact that canola processing generally uses upwards of 500 degrees means a good portion of the Omega-3s could be rancid on the shelf.” (Read more at http://www.wellsphere.com/healthy-eating-article/the-definitive-guide-to-oils/953976) I must say, however, that I love your pizza presentation and can hardly wait to try it here! mmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 30,201 hits

