Eating in the Raw!

March 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm 2 comments

Life is grand, do you know that! Living is truly wonderful and being able to share with people around you is an amazing blessing.  Several years ago I went to a vegetarian potluck with two of my friends.  I brought whole penne pasta with veggies tossed in a cashew cream sauce.  I spotted this very cute guy standing across the way and I told my friend, “I want to meet him, make that happen.”  Well, 7 years later we are best friends, truly connected to the hip.  Jarid Manos is the founder of a great organization, Great Plains Restoration Council, gprc.org, and a great author, check him out at ghettoplainsman.com.  The mission is to bring back open space, (prairies) and teach youth about egol0gical health.  He is an amazing person and has sacrificed a lot to make this earth a better please.

The other day he called and invited himself over for lunch.  Of course I said yes, but I said that it will be all raw.  He was elated, being a vegan, he is all up for trying new foods.

jarid-and-raw

This what we had.  To the left Collard Greens Burritos and right Jicama Chips with Guacamole.  Rawdelicious!!!!!!!!!!!!  Today I will post the recipe for Jicama Chips and tomorrow I will give you the recipe for the Collard Green Burrito.  The burritos little labor intensive but worth every bite, but the jicama chips are quick and easy.

jicama-chips

Jicama Chips

2 medium jicama sliced approximately 1/4 in. thick

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t sea salt or to taste

1 t smoked paprika

Place sliced jicama in plastic bag, sprinkle in garlic power, smoked paprika and sea salt and shake.  They are wonderful.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Eat Your Greens! Wrap it up in Green!!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Lee  |  March 27, 2009 at 7:10 am

    That looks so delicious!! It makes me want to try vegan food. I enjoy reading your blogs and twits!! and stalking you in Printmaking! Your friend is easy on the eye too 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie Redcross  |  April 6, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Wow, this is exactly what I needed. I have been Vegan for 4 years now, but I never found anything quick and yummy to go with Guac – flax chips are good, but require prep or are expensive. This is a great and quick way to eat guac

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 30,574 hits

